Democracy in Newtown

Find your representatives

Use our tools below to find our your local and national representatives for your electoral ward in Newtown.

Data kindly provided by Spotlight Powys
Who does what?

The world of democractic structures can be confusing - so we have put together this helpful guide for you to explain who runs things in Newtown.

 UK Government

The UK Government oversees defence, welfare, constitutional law and taxes. It is accountable to the UK Parliament.

 Welsh Government

The Welsh Government oversees health, education, transport and sets some taxes. It is accountable to the Senedd.

 Powys County Council

Powys County Council oversees schools, social care, roads, recycling and sets an element of Council Tax.

5 County Councillors across 4 wards.
£16,800 per councillor per year.

 Newtown & Llanllwchaiarn Town Council

Newtown and Llanllchaiarn Town Council oversees green spaces, events, weekly market and sets an element of Council Tax.

16 Town Councillors across 5 wards.
£150 per councillor per year*.

*Excluding the recently announced allowance scheme which could see some councillors take up to £1,230 extra and senior allowances.

Sign Up

Click here to sign up to view stories and data in your local community.

Local man refused to give blood sample due to fear of needles

1 day ago 280 views

Local fundraiser to achieve towns highest honour

2 days ago 244 views

Rugby Club coach Bloor nominated to national award

1 day ago 236 views

Most Read
Newtown man who refused sample was 'in clinical trial'

5 days ago 528 views

Newtown man told neighbours 'I’ll rip your eyes out'

4 days ago 524 views

Newtown teen says he's quit cocaine since his arrest

6 days ago 308 views

Latest Stories
Kids Eat Free returns at local fish bar

3 hours ago

Newtown dry cleaners hit hard by energy crisis closes after 23 years

16 hours ago

Learn to Swim with Freedom Leisure!

16 hours ago

Latest Local Jobs
Newtown Town Council - Customer Services Assistant

£21,575 to £21,968 pro

Powys County Council - Apprentice Fitter

£10.90 an hour from April 2023

Powys County Council - Teaching Assistant Level 3

£22,369 to £23,194 per annum pro rata