Local Elections 2022

An election is being held for local government in Wales on Thursday 5th May 2022. If you’re aged 16 or over, and you live in Wales, you can now vote in local government elections.

These include elections for Powys County Council and local town and community councils. In Newtown, the election of 5 county councillors (in 4 wards) and 16 town councillors (in 5 wards) will take place.

You must register to be able to vote. Registration is simple, you can do this by using the UK Digital Registration service or by contacting your local registration office.

Powys County Council

Newtown WestNewtown NorthNewtown Central and SouthNewtown East
Gill Bridgwater (Independent)Jackie Molloy Davies (Independent)David Selby (Liberal Democrat – Incumbent)Joy Jones (Independent – Incumbent)
Peter Lewington (Conservative)Adam Kennerly (Liberal Democrat)Kelly Healy (Liberal Democrat)
Gill Thurston (Plaid Cymru)Dan Rowlands (Conservative – Incumbent)Les Skilton (Independent – Incumbent)
No statement provided
Harry Robson (Liberal Democrat)Darryl Gwilt (Conservative)
Paul Sawtell (Conservative)
Powys County Council / Source: Statement of persons nominated

Newtown & Llanllwchaiarn Town Council

Newtown WestNewtown NorthNewtown SouthNewtown CentralNewtown East
Peter LewingtonTracy OwenRichard EdwardsDavid SelbyJohn Byrne
Mike ChildsRex ShaylerVacancyRupert TaylorVal Howard
VacancyVacancyVacancyRichard WhiteVacancy
Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council / Source: Statement of persons nominated


Profile: Daniel Rowlands (Newtown North)

Profile: Adam Kennerly (Newtown North)

Profile: Kelly Healy (Newtown Central and South)

Profile: Gill Bridgwater (Newtown West)